Ownership of school lands in Oxfordshire: information from Oxfordshire County Council

I’ve had a response from Oxfordshire County Council (1/4/2014), which shows that across the county many schools are either leased from the LA or from a previous Foundation Trust; the main exception to this is in the case of C of E and Roman Catholic schools, where OCC may (as noted below) own the playing fields and lease them to a school, but the other land belongs to another body (presumably, the relevant diocese, although I have yet to investigate this). I have copied below the full text of the document sent to me by OCC:


“Freehold of land for academies in Oxfordshire

OCC own freehold of whole site with a 125 academy year lease out to academy

trust for all of part of the site for the following schools:

The Oxford Academy

North Oxfordshire Academy

Oxford Spires Academy (formerly Oxford School)

Wallingford School (secondary)

Hanwell Fields Community School (primary)

Rush Common School (primary)

Bartholomew School (secondary)

Faringdon Infant School

Faringdon Junior School

Faringdon Community College

Lord Williams’s School (secondary)

Chipping Norton School (secondary)

Langtree School (secondary)

The Cherwell School (secondary)

The Henry Box School (secondary)

Burford Secondary School

Didcot Girls’ School (secondary)

St. Birinus School, Didcot (secondary)

Northern House Special School

Gosford Hill School (secondary)

Cheney Community College

Harriers Ground Community Primary School – now Harriers Banbury Academy

Kingfisher Special School

Iffley Mead Special School – now Isis Academy

Fitzwaryn Special School

Cutteslowe Primary School

Manor School, Didcot (primary)

Willowcroft Community Primary School

Ladygrove Park Primary School

Orchard Meadow Primary School

Windale Community Primary School

Pegasus Primary School

Berinsfield Community Primary School – Now Abbey Woods Academy

Charlton Primary School

Watchfield Primary School

Cholsey Primary School

John Mason Secondary School, Abingdon

OCC do not own freehold of most of the school site for the following schools. (In

most cases OCC still own the freehold to the playing fields which are leased out to

the academy trust on a 125 year academy lease.):

The John Henry Newman CE Primary School

Gillotts School (secondary)

Wheatley CE Primary School

St Christopher’s C of E Primary School, Cowley

The Hendreds CE Primary School, Wantage

Grove C of E Primary School

John Blandy VC Primary School

Buckland C of E Primary School

Shrivenham C of E Primary School

Longcot & Fernham C of E Primary School

Wantage C of E Primary School

St Johns Primary School, Wallingford

St Joseph’s RC Primary School, Carterton

St Joseph’s RC Primary School, Thame

Our Lady of Lourdes RC Primary, Witney

St. Thomas More Catholic Primary School, Kidlington

Our Lady’s RC Primary School, Cowley

St John Fisher RC Primary School, Littlemore

St Gregory the Great RC Secondary School

The Marlborough C of E School (secondary)

NB: In both cases there may be areas of the school site which are either excluded

from the academy transfer i.e. freehold ownership by OCC was retained, or a

sublease was granted back to OCC for an area of the site.

OCC do not own the freehold of most or all of the site of previous Foundation Trust:

King Alfred’s Community & Sports College – now King Alfred’s Academy- trustees

own land and building, except playing field which is part trustees owned, part OCC

Banbury School (secondary)

Dashwood Primary School”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s